Russell R Txf

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Canceled trial and still charged

Peoplesmart - Canceled trial and still charged
Peoplesmart - Canceled trial and still charged - Image 2
I canceled my trial before hand and still got charged. I want my order canceled asap. And I am sending over the charge I was charged and need my money back
View full review
Loss:
$39

Preferred solution: Full refund

Colan Etb
map-marker Cheyenne, Wyoming

Scam scam scam

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Jan 20, 2016

What is unethical about this practice is (a) enrolling participants in TWO separate services on the sly and (b) only canceling ONE when customers are clearly attempting to sever ties with/cancel all services. Additionally, every other service (student loans, credit cards, etc.) send monthly billing statements to customer's email to remind/provide record of upcoming bills and withdrawals from one's checking account.

A thorough perusal of my email accounts (b/c I save everything) demonstrates that Peoplesmart NEVER sent any such emails. Ever. Even my spam/promotions folder is holding onto stuff from the past few months, and there was nothing.

Therefore, refunding four months is a hollow gesture at best, considering that they charged me for 16 months, when only ONE of those months were what I wanted (and assumed) I paid for.

Given how many complaints similar to mine that I've found on this site and others, it's clear that this company is engaged in non-ethical business practices and that it will continue to do so.

Original review Jan 18, 2016

In October of 2014 I purchased the $19.95 for a month of background checks and cancelled within days. I have never had any record of emails from PeopleSearch at all...yet they have somehow been charging me.

I'd NEVER ordered (or wanted) Identity Smart, and yet a perusal of this site shows that others who have had the same issue are being told they cancelled Identity Smart and not the former. This is utter and complete garbage and a scam.

They've STOLEN close to $300 from me and I'm definitely pissed.

I'm contesting these charges with my bank and reporting this organization to both my state's consumer advocacy group, FTC, as well as the BBB.

Peoplesmart Reply:
Hello Ms. Marshall,

Thank you for your recent correspondence to PissedConsumer.com dated January 18, 2016. Your concerns were forwarded to PeopleSmart.com for review and response.

I apologize for any misunderstanding as to the membership package purchased. During the visit to the website on October 3, 2014, two different memberships were started. One was a monthly unlimited search membership and the other was a 30 day free trial of IdentitySmart. The IdentitySmart membership was canceled online on October 3, 2014 but the unlimited search membership was not canceled. The membership continued to automatically renew every month. We do itemize the purchases on the website during the checkout process and in the confirmation email that is sent immediately after purchase. In addition, we list our phone number on the credit card statement every month so customers can contact us if they are charged and do not wish to continue the service. Had we been contacted sooner, we would have been able to prevent further billing.

I do understand that you were not aware that you had enrolled in the two memberships. I have canceled your unlimited search membership and issued four refunds for $19.95 for order number 614134838. In our Terms of Use, we do state that all sales are final after 60 days. However, in this case, we have extended our policy and issued refunds for all charges which have occurred within the last 120 days. The refunds will process immediately through our system. However, your financial institution may require up to 7 business days of additional processing time before they are reflected in your account balance.

I appreciate you contacting us so we could address your concerns. If you need any further assistance, please feel free to contact us directly at 1-888-813-0008.

Sincerely,
Susie L.
Member Services Representative
View full review
Cons:
  • 240 dollar free trial
  • Unauthorized billing
Reason of review:
continued to charge me after cancellation; never processed cancellation.
Loss:
$280
Preferred solution:

Full refund

Anonymous
map-marker Huntington Beach, California

Unauthroized charges peoplesmart

just noticed an "authorized" transaction on our paypal account...

will probably be blindsided with an explanation like they have with so many other people.

Watch Out!!

working now with paypal to get everything blocked and charges reversed. this is not right

now I can't press enter unless I write and eighty plus word story about our complaint.

This should tell you that PeopleSmart are Smart to trape you in, and I am writing eighty words so I can get this written and presented to the public.

Please be advised and check the charges on your different accounts.

great..I have reached 91 words.

Peoplesmart Reply:
Dear Ms. Duhaime-Londberg,

Thank you for your recent correspondence to PissedConsumer.com dated January 17, 2016. Your concerns were forwarded to PeopleSmart.com for review and response.

I apologize for any inconvenience caused with respect to this matter. In investigating the account, we see that there was a purchase on the website on April 9, 2014 for a phone report for $0.95 and a 7 day free trial of an unlimited search membership. The report was being offered at a discounted price with enrollment in the trial. The trial period expired on April 17, 2014 at which you were billed $19.95 for the membership fee. We do state on the website before purchase, and in the email confirmation that is sent immediately after, that if the trial is not canceled within the 7 day time frame, it will go into a monthly billing cycle.

I apologize for any misunderstanding about the membership package that was purchased. We understand that you were unaware that you had enrolled in a membership, but had we been contacted sooner, we would have been able to cancel immediately to prevent further charges. I have canceled your membership and issued four refunds for $19.95 for order number 581747815. In our Terms of Use, we do state that all sales are final after 60 days. However, in this case, we have extended our policy and issued refunds for all charges which have occurred within the last 120 days. The refunds will process immediately through our system. However, up to 7 business days of additional processing time may be required by PayPal or your financial institution before the refunds are reflected in your account balance.

I appreciate you contacting us so we could address your concerns. If you need any further assistance, please feel free to contact us directly at 1-888-813-0008.

Sincerely,
Susie L.
Member Services Representative
View full review
Cons:
  • Unauthorized billing
  • Refusal to refund entire amount
  • Peoplesmart customer service
Reason of review:
Problems with payment
Anonymous
map-marker Indianapolis, Indiana

Incorrect Information

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

My name is Everylee Mitizie Watson.

I am not related to a Claire M. Cahill, please take her off my information. mitiziewatson@***.com, and mitiziemouse@***.com. Also, my number is incorrect. I no longer have 317-924-****. For about 15 years. Also, my son and husband, do not have that number. Douglas Ed.Watson, and Isaac B. Watson, Sr. And I am a woman. You have Sr. after my name Everylee Mitizie Watson, no Sr. Please correct. Need to verify send email to mitiziewatson@***.com . I can not think of anymore words. I will put letters so it will let me send this to you. Thanks.

Thanks a million,

Grandma Mitizie. I am 63 years old. I hope this goes thru. I hope this goes thru. I hope this goes thru. I hope this goes thru. I hope this goes thru. I hope this goes thru. I hope this goes thru.

Peoplesmart Reply:
Dear Ms. Watson,

Thank you for your recent correspondence to PissedConsumer.com dated October 23, 2015. Your concerns were forwarded to PeopleSmart.com for review and response.

I apologize for any inconvenience in finding incorrect information on our website. We have a read-only agreement with our information provider, and cannot change any information. However, we respect privacy, and that is why we have an Opt-Out process built into our website. You can go to the address below or give us a call at 888-694-1992 to have a representative help you through the process. Please follow the link below to manage your listing: http://www.peoplesmart.com/optout

Sincerely,
Shauna K
Member Services Representative
View full review
Pros:
  • I liked
Reason of review:
Bad quality
Anonymous
map-marker Tyler, Texas

Peoplesmart Service Charges Review from Tyler, Texas

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

They charged my debit card and I want my money back in my account now . This place is horrible will never use again

Peoplesmart Reply:
Dear Mr. Clark,

Thank you for your recent correspondence to PissedConsumer.com dated September 6, 2015. Your concerns were forwarded to PeopleSmart.com for review and response.

We would like to apologize for any confusion regarding the membership that was purchased. After researching the account we see that a Search membership was started on 6/28/2015 and a phone report was purchased for $.99 (a $9.95 value when purchased without a membership).

The trial expired on 7/6/2015, at which time you were charged $19.99 for the membership. The membership will renew monthly until canceled as stated in the terms of use and in the purchase confirmation sent to the email address on record.

We have canceled your membership as of 9/8/2015 and you will not be charged again. We have processed refunds for your membership. You will have 3 refunds for $19.99 for the membership charges . You will see each individual refund post to your statement. The refund will process through our system immediately. However, your financial institution may require up to 7 business days for additional processing before it is reflected in your account balance.

I appreciate you reaching out to us so we can make things right. If you require clarification on any of the issues raised, please feel free to contact us directly at 888-694-1992.

Sincerely,
Ann H
View full review
Anonymous
map-marker Findlay, Ohio

Peoplesmart Service Charges Review from Findlay, Ohio

I just found out that someone set up an account with peoplesmart back in January with my credit card information. When I called the customer service number I was told the account would be cancelled and I was only going to be refunded for this billing cycle for 14.95! I feel I should be refunded for ALL the charges because I wasn't using whatever service they offer!

Peoplesmart Reply:
Dear Ms. Rose,

Thank you for your recent correspondence to PissedConsumer.com dated July 24, 2015. Your concerns were forwarded to PeopleSmart.com for review and response.

I apologize for any inconvenience caused with respect to this matter. Unfortunately, I am unable to locate an account for you with any recent transactions. It appears as if there is another account that may be under a different email address. In order to address your concern, we would need more information.

Please contact our Member Services department again so we can discuss a resolution with you. We can be reached at 1-888-813-0008.

Sincerely,
Susie L.
Member Services
View full review
Shirel Woe

Scam use unethical means to get and keep memberships

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I used the 1.00 fee for one time use. they signed me up for membership, never sent the confirmation e-mail they said they sent.

no monthly e-mail of receipt of fee on credit card. they do send e-mails to get you to upgrade. This is unethical and a scam. I had to hit cancel membership 6 times before it would register cancelled membership.

I went in to cancel membership over a year ago, and now I see what happened, they don't accept the cancel membership when you click it the first time.

Scam!!! A class action suit should be filled against this company.

Peoplesmart Reply:
Hello,

Thank you for your recent correspondence to PissedConsumer.com dated July 22, 2015. Your concerns were forwarded to PeopleSmart.com for review and response.

I want to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with our product and/or purchase process. With the detail provided with your complaint I am unable to locate a specific order or account.

I appreciate you reaching out to us so we can make things right. If you require clarification on any of the issues raised, please feel free to contact us directly at 888-694-1992.

Sincerely,
Ann H
Member Services
View full review
Cons:
  • Refusal to refund entire amount
Reason of review:
Poor customer service
Loss:
$144
Jedediah Bca
map-marker Abita Springs, Louisiana

PeopleSmart is a scam!

Last July 2014, I used this service once for a $1 fee. The confirmation email containing the statement, "After your trial period, you will be charged $19.95 for your PeopleSmart membership and it will automatically renew upon expiration at the same price every month unless canceled," went to my SPAM email.

After carefully reviewing my credit card statements, I discovered today that I have been charged every month for a year! Costumer service refunded only three of those payments. I feel completely abused and defrauded by PeopleSmart.

The customer service representative resent the original email to me and it went to my SPAM a second time! I asked for the name and address of a corporate representative to whom I could send a letter.

He told me that there was no such person! I was vulnerable when they stole money from me each month, but I'm not so gullible that I believe a company functions without living, breathing management.

Peoplesmart Reply:
Dear Ms. Delarosa,

Thank you for your recent correspondence to PissedConsumer.com dated 7/1/2015. Your concerns were forwarded to PeopleSmart.com for review and response.

I apologize for any inconvenience caused with respect to this matter. We value you as our customer and want to make your experience with PeopleSmart a positive one. As such, we have canceled your membership and issued a refund for the amount of $59.85 which has been processed for receipt number 605555934 .This will process immediately through our order system and card processor. However, your financial institution may require additional processing time before it is reflected in your account balance.

When you purchased your original report there was an offer for a 7-day trial to the web site. It appears that you signed-up for that offer during the checkout process. The membership billed when the trial expired after 7 days, since there was no cancellation of the membership. I do apologize for the misunderstanding as to the membership package that was purchased. This was itemized for you at the checkout process where you would have put in your card information and also in the confirmation email that was sent immediately after purchase. I do apologize if it went to your SPAM folder, but we do not have a way to control that. We do print our phone number every month on the credit card statements. When we were contacted on 7/1/2015, we immediately canceled the membership and issued three refunds for $19.95 to cover all charges which occurred within the last 120 days. In our terms of use, we state that all sales are final after 60 days, but we have made an exception in this case and extended our policy. Had we been contacted sooner, we would have been able to cancel the membership to prevent further billing.

I appreciate you reaching out to us so we can make things right. If you require clarification on any of the issues raised, please feel free to contact us directly at 888-694-1992.



Sincerely,
Susie L.
Member Services
View full review
Reason of review:
Stole from me
Preferred solution:

My credit card was charged $239, I was refunded $60. I want to be refunded the balance of $179.

Anonymous
map-marker Roseville, Michigan

Peoplesmart - Trial Membership Review from Roseville, Michigan

Never authorized charges for this service past a trial in 2012, and have been charged for the past 4 years!!!! Check your records, service has not been used !

Peoplesmart Reply:
Dear Ms. Stevenson,

Thank you for your recent correspondence to PissedConsumer.com dated 6/25/2015. Your concerns were forwarded to PeopleSmart.com for review and response.

I apologize for any inconvenience caused with respect to this matter. We value you as our customer and want to make your experience with PeopleSmart a positive one. As such, we have issued a refund for the amount of $23.40 which has been processed for receipt number 359814841 .This will process immediately through our order system and card processor; however, your financial institution may require additional processing time before it is reflected in your account balance.

When the membership was purchased on 6/20/2012, we were offering a free phone report with enrollment in a yearly membership. It appears that you signed-up for that offer during the checkout process. I do apologize for the misunderstanding as to the membership package that was purchased. We do not show that the membership had been a free trial. The purchase was billed immediately on 6/20/2012. This was itemized for you at the checkout process where you would have put in your card information and also in the confirmation email that was sent immediately after purchase. Since the membership was never canceled, it continued to automatically renew every year. Your membership has now been canceled and you will not be charged again.

I appreciate you reaching out to us so we can make things right. If you require clarification on any of the issues raised, please feel free to contact us directly at 888-694-1992.

Sincerely,
Susie L.
Member Services

View full review
Reason of review:
Problems with payment
Anonymous
map-marker Grand Rapids, Michigan

I cancelled my membership two years ago and it kept charging me.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Peoplesmart - I cancelled my membership two years ago and it kept charging me.
Peoplesmart - I cancelled my membership two years ago and it kept charging me. - Image 2
Peoplesmart - I cancelled my membership two years ago and it kept charging me. - Image 3

On April of 2013 I used PeopleSmart's one dollar trial. After cancelling the trial moments after, I thought I would be good and not have to worry about further monthly charges.

I used my bank card for my one dollar trial, that I rarely use anymore. After really looking at my bank statement last month I saw a charge of $9.95 and decided to take a look. I logged back onto my account at PeopleSmart and found that they have been charging me for the past TWO YEARS! Costing me more than $220.00 and I want all of that money back!

I haven't used this website once since my one dollar free trial and I feel as though I have been scammed. When I called the support line and tried to talk to someone they told me that it was not a scam and that there was more than one cancellation that I had to perform.

Peoplesmart Reply:
Mr. Dykstra,

Thank you for your recent correspondence to PissedConsumer.com dated June 24, 2015. Your concerns were forwarded to PeopleSmart.com for review and response.

I apologize for any inconvenience caused with respect to this matter. We value you as our customer and want to make your experience with PeopleSmart a positive one. As such, we have canceled your Unlimited Phone Search Access membership on 6/24/2015 and issued a refund on 6/25/2015, for the amount of $29.85 which has been processed for receipt number 474798501. This refund will show as 3 charges of $9.95. This refunds all charges occurring in the last 120 days. Please allow at least 3-5 business days for your financial institution to receive the funds.

After researching your account we see that you signed up for a 7-day Free Trial membership to PeopleSmart and 7-day Free Trial subscription to IdentitySmart. IdentitySmart is a service that provides you with the tools needed to manage and protect your identity. Your PeopleSmart membership includes basic People Searches which will return listed contact information, such as address and phone number. You canceled your subscription to IdentitySmart; however, you did not cancel your subscription to PeopleSmart. As such, the membership billed when the trial expired after 7 days, since there was no cancellation of the membership. I do apologize for the misunderstanding as to the membership package that was purchased. This was itemized for you at the checkout process where you would have put in your card information and also in the confirmation email that was sent immediately after purchase.

I appreciate you reaching out to us so we can make things right. If you require clarification on any of the issues raised, please feel free to contact us directly at 888-694-1992.

Sincerely,
Ann H
View full review
Cons:
  • Unauthorized billing
  • Refusal to refund entire amount
Reason of review:
Problems with payment
Loss:
$229
Preferred solution:

Full refund

Anonymous
map-marker Dupont, Washington

Peoplesmart - Personal Information Disclosure Review from Dupont, Washington

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

People smart, in my opinion, appears to have intentionally prayed on me by selling access to a phone number and address for a few dollars hoping that we wouldn't read the "fine print" of the "terms and conditions" agreement so that they could bill us for years for monthly services that we never used, not once after that initial purchase, and while doing so never sent us any bills, statements, emails, or other notices, that are common with reputable institutions.

Peoplesmart Reply:
Dear Mr. Hankwitz,

Thank you for your recent correspondence to PissedConsumer.com dated 5/18/15. Your concerns were forwarded to PeopleSmart.com for review and response.

I apologize for any inconvenience caused with respect to this matter. We value you as our customer and want to make your experience with PeopleSmart a positive one. As such, we have canceled your membership and issued 2 refunds for the total amount of $39.90 which has been processed for receipt number 475966844 .This will process immediately through our order system and card processor; however, please allow at least 3-5 business days for your financial institution to receive the funds.

When you purchased your original report there was an offer for a 7-day trial to the web site. It appears that you signed-up for that offer during the checkout process. The membership billed when the trial expired after 7 days, since there was no cancellation of the membership. I do apologize for the misunderstanding as to the membership package that was purchased. This was itemized for you at the checkout process where you would have put in your card information and also in the confirmation email that was sent immediately after purchase.

The refunds will process through our system immediately. However, your financial institution may require additional processing time before they are reflected in your account balance.
We apologize, but we are unable to refund the remaining charges, as they exceed our payment policy's 60 day limit.

I appreciate you reaching out to us so we can make things right. If you require clarification on any of the issues raised, please feel free to contact us directly at 888-813-0008.
View full review
Reason of review:
Bad quality
Barbara D Uzl

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Moss Landing, California

7 day trial period!! HA!

I signed up for the 7 day "free" trial period to check the credit report of a tenant (which I couldn't get anyway because you have to have their permission). Tried to get a background check on the same person, but was unable to find anything...I remembered to cancel in time, but then was signed up for another product...IDENTITY SMART, inadvertently.

I have been paying for 14.95 for 3 months before I realized it was automatically coming off my credit card.

When I called to cancel, they offered me the same service for 9.95! Are they kidding??

Peoplesmart Reply:
Dear Ms. Dodge,

Thank you for your recent correspondence to PissedConsumer.com dated March 1, 2015. Your concerns were forwarded to PeopleSmart.com for review and response.

We want to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. After researching, we found an account showing our services were obtained on 11/30/2014 to start a 7-day free Unlimited trial membership which included a contact report. The trial period expired on 12/8/2014. The membership was canceled on 11/30. We also see a 7-day free trial of Identity Smart was also started on 11/20/2014. The trial period expired on 12/8/2014 resulting in the membership fee charge of $14.95 a month. This would continue on a monthly basis until canceled as was acknowledged and stated in the terms of service in check out. An email was also sent with details about your purchase. We have no record of a request to cancel the Identity Smart membership was received.

We have canceled your Identity Smart membership and issued 3 refunds of $14.95 for the Identity Smart membership fees. This will process immediately through our order system and payment processor. We’ve found that certain institutions take longer to process a refund or reversal back into your available balance.

We are not a consumer reporting agency as defined in the FCRA, but detailed information about your question can be found in section 5 of our Terms and conditions:
http://my.peoplesmart.com/psp.aspx?_act=terms

Our services should not be used for tenant screening. You may want to consider www.leaserunner.com for your tenant screening needs.

I appreciate you reaching out to us so we can make things right. If you require clarification on any of the issues raised, please feel free to contact us directly at 888-694-1992

Sincerely,
Ann H.
Member Services Representative
View full review
Reason of review:
I was scammed!
Loss:
$45
Preferred solution:

Full refund

Anonymous
map-marker Burlington, Wisconsin

PeopleSmart ripped off my checking account!

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

This was not my peoplesmart account, however, there was one in place. I finally gained access to it after 6 months of unknown charges appearing on my bank statement from peoplesmart. Apparently there was some fraud on my debit card & another person's name was on the peoplesmart account. I have since changed the information on it and have only gotten 4 months of refunds back and none of the monthly fees or "report" charges as they appear on this account.

Peoplesmart claims their 800# was on the bank statement, however it was not. Because of there repeated unauthorized withdrawals from my debit card, I have had to shut down the entire account and file a fraud report. I could not get a full refund from peoplesmart even though I told them this wasn't my account. I am seeking at least $59.80 as a refund. I have emailed, called and written them to no avail. I am hoping this website can help me straighten out the mess that my financial life has become because of this fraud.

I am glad at least the bank was on my side! Please help! Buyer beware, they will charge you monthly unless you cancel somehow. Good luck getting anything in writing! Don't use a service that doesn't verify where their payments are coming from or if they are fraudulent!

Peoplesmart Reply:
Dear Mr. Harvey,

Thank you for your recent correspondence to PissedConsumer.com dated February 16, 2015. Your concerns were forwarded to PeopleSmart.com for review and response.

After researching your account we see order number 454415017 is connected to a membership which was created on 2/21/2013. The 7-day free trial ended on 2/28/2013 resulting in the $14.95 charge. This membership was canceled over the phone on 3/18/2013 due to not being satisfied with the product.

We show that a new membership, order 551568221, was created on 1/1/2014, this sign up was for a 7-day Free Trial subscription to PeopleSmart and IdentitySmart. We show these were automatically canceled on 2/28/2014 since payment was never successfully processed. We received no payment for either membership.

Another Unlimited Work + Contact Search Access membership which started with a 7-day free trial, order 600783530, was created on 6/22/2014. The trial membership expired on 6/30/2014 at which time the membership fee of $19.95 was charged. This membership fee would occur monthly until canceled. This was accepted and acknowledged in check out. The membership was part of the email confirmation which was sent to the email you have provided. This membership was canceled over the web site on 1/13/2015. We received a phone call later the same day at which time 4 refunds of $19.95 were issued to your account. This was an extension of the 60 day return policy indicated in our terms of service.

I appreciate you reaching out to us so we can make things right. If you require clarification on any of the issues raised, please feel free to contact us directly at 888-694-1992

Sincerely,
Ann H.
View full review
Cons:
  • Unauthorized billing
  • Constant charges
  • 240 dollar free trial
Reason of review:
Poor customer service
Loss:
$76
Preferred solution:

Full refund

Anonymous
map-marker Portland, Oregon

People smart compaing

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I used People Smart once in 2013 and was charged $4. Then I was charged $19.95 a month since then. I didn't discover that until I was going through bank statements for my taxes. I called them and my account is now closed (I received a new ATM card, so they no longer had a way to charge me). However, they will not reverse the charges, claiming they can't since the account is closed. They did reverse one $19.95 charge, which is one month. However, they billed me for 14-15 months.

I have read enough complaints about them now that I realize I am by far the only person who did not realize when I paid for one report that I would be charged every month after that.

I would like to be fully credited for all of the charges in 2014.

Thank you for any help you can give me. I find this kind of practice reprehensible, and yes, perhaps in the fine print, they mention the monthly charge, but they do this with the expectation no one will read every caveat and they can simply charge cards every month.

How interesting that a company who wants to dig up dirt on people is so dirty in their own business practices.

Peoplesmart Reply:
Dear Ms. Hill,

Thank you for your recent correspondence to PissedConsumer.com dated February 14, 2015. Your concerns were forwarded to PeopleSmart.com for review and response.

I apologize for any inconvenience caused with respect to this matter. We value you as our customer and want to make your experience with PeopleSmart a positive one. We do see that you called on 2/14/2015 and your membership was canceled and issued a refund for the amount of $19.95 was processed for receipt number 541166643. We will do one additional refund of $19.95. This will process immediately through our order system and card processor; however, please allow at least 3-5 business days for your financial institution to receive the funds. These refunds to beyond our 60 day refund policy. This gives our customers ample time to contact us if charges appear on their statement that are not recognized.

When you purchased your original report there was an offer for a 7-day trial to the web site. It appears that you signed-up for that offer during the checkout process. The membership billed when the trial expired after 7 days, since there was no cancellation of the membership. I do apologize for the misunderstanding as to the membership package that was purchased. This was itemized for you at the checkout process where you would have put in your card information and also in the confirmation email that was sent immediately after purchase.

The service we provide is a search of public record. The search may contain contact information, vital records, court & criminal records, bankruptcies & liens, ownerships and licenses. We report information found in public record.

I appreciate you reaching out to us so we can make things right. If you require clarification on any of the issues raised, please feel free to contact us directly at 888-694-1992.

Sincerely,
Ann H.
View full review
Reason of review:
Problems with payment
Loss:
$240
Preferred solution:

Full refund

Anonymous
map-marker Harold, Kentucky

Peoplesmart - Trial Membership Review from Harold, Kentucky

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I applied for a 7 day trial membership but after one search I realized that their information wasn't up to date. I cancelled my trial period 4 days in advance but was advised that I would still be billed. SITE IS A SCAM.

Mathew Dillion

Banner, Ky 41603

Peoplesmart Reply:
Mr. Dillion,

Thank you for your recent correspondence to PissedConsumer.com dated February 7, 2015. Your concerns were forwarded to PeopleSmart.com for review and response.

I apologize for any inconvenience caused with respect to this matter. We value you as our customer and want to make your experience with PeopleSmart a positive one. We have looked at your account and acknowledge a 7-day trial Unlimited Contact search membership and a 30 day trial IdentitySmart membership was started on 2/4/2015. The membership came with a free email report. Both trial memberships were canceled on 2/7/2015. There was no charge for either membership on the account.

There was a charge of $9.95 for the email report however the amount was credited in the system 5 minutes later. We will have our technical team look into this possible issue. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We can confirm there was not any charge on the account for the memberships or that was not credited back.

The information that we provided in your report(s) were based on the search details that you provided. We conducted an extensive search of all databases for the information you requested and presented the most up-to-date available results. Although this information is accurate and complete to the best of our knowledge, we cannot provide a warranty for this information.

I appreciate you reaching out to us. If you require clarification on any of the issues raised, please feel free to contact us directly at 888-694-1992.
View full review
Reason of review:
Problems with payment
Orry Bhf
map-marker San Diego, California

I was told I had a free 7 day membership, then they double charged me for another service that they wouldn't allow me to access.

I would like to be ENTIRELY refunded please. This is a giant scam, I couldn't access ANY information that I was promised when I signed up, and they illegally charged my card 19.95 THREE TIMES.

I signed up originally for a 7 day free trial where they said all personal information would be available. When I tried to access the services, absolutely nothing promised was available. Rather, I was constantly redirected to a new page prompting me to pay 19.95 for the previously promised service. When I reluctantly paid that, it redirected me AGAIN to pay 19.95.

That's when I got fed up and checked my credit card statement.

THEY CHARGED ME 3 TIMES FOR ZERO SERVICE. This place is a giant loop of lies.

Peoplesmart Reply:
Dear Ms. Allsop,

Thank you for your recent correspondence to PissedConsumer.com dated January 23/2015. Your concerns were forwarded to PeopleSmart.com for review and response.

I apologize for any inconvenience caused with respect to this matter. We value you as our customer and want to make your experience with PeopleSmart a positive one. As such, we issued a refund for the amount of $59.85. Upon the initial visit to the website, there was a sign up for report(s) in addition to the 7 day free trial that was automatically offered. This was itemized for you at the checkout process where you would have put in your card information and also in the confirmation email that was sent immediately after purchase. The 7 day trial was canceled within the trial period so there were no charges for the membership.

I do apologize for the misunderstanding as to the membership package that was purchased. A basic membership with PeopleSmart.com entitles you to access to the leading people search database, basic contact and landline phone lookups, email and social network lookups, and sex offender and inmate records lookups. Premium Reports are not included with this membership. A Contact Report, Reverse Phone Report, Work Information Report, or Background Report is only available for individual purchase. We have issued a refund for the Premium Background report.

We also see that two Court Runner Reports were ordered. Court Runner Reports take on an average of 38 business hours to receive. We have canceled the court runner request and refunded the cost of this special service as these are not included in the free trial. These reports will not be delivered.

I appreciate you reaching out to us so we can make things right. If you require clarification on any of the issues raised, please feel free to contact us directly at 888-694-1992.



Sincerely,
Ann H
View full review
Reason of review:
Not as described/ advertised
Loss:
$60
Preferred solution:

Full refund

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article